Night time is not my friend…

australia-where-the-spiders-eat-birds

Night is a jungle. The darkness in my room meets the darkness in my mind. A secret door is opened and all manner of horrors released to roam free. Memories all distorted that want to haunt me.

A giant spider with hairy legs looms over, trying to catch me; his intention is to eat me or worse.

A dark room, or maybe it’s a cave that would give Tim Burton nightmares, rises up. I run away but something is behind me. Other people are around and they run screaming. I’m scared to look behind me, in case it’s worse than my imagination.

Then I wake up in a pool of sweat and look at the street light coming through the gap at the side of the curtains and say to myself, it will be alright, just a dream, it’s not real. But it felt that way. I can still feel hot breath on the back of my neck and I shiver.

I’m forced to sit up, and reach the miles over the gap between the bed and the table to fumble for the light switch. When I finally locate it and flick it with my thumb, the bright artificial light of goodness blinds me with 50 watts of electricity. I curse, but I don’t really mind since the light has saved me from the dark.

The light has banished them back, back to the crevices of my mind, behind closed doors that no one sees.

But patiently they wait, menacing, because they know, night will fall, like it does every night, then they, again, will have their way, lurking, roaming, across the landscape, free.

Words (c) 2014.

Enjoy a brownie...

